The government keeps trying to prevent Jobbik MPs from doing their job

The government keeps trying to prevent Jobbik MPs from doing their job.


Ever since it was founded, Jobbik - The Movement for a Better Hungary - has been consistently standing up for the protection of the Hungarian farmland and water treasure. During a recent session, Jobbik's parliamentary group obstructed the voting procedure regarding the Hungarian land act. Jobbik's MPs walked up to the Speaker's platform to demonstrate against passing the new land bill and held up a large banner saying: "Handing the Hungarian land over to foreigners is high treason!" In his press release, Jobbik President Gábor Vona states: the fact that the President of the Republic did not even send the bill back to Parliament for further deliberation, in other words, he had nothing against it, is another high treason committed by Fidesz.

Jobbik's parliamentary group requested a roll-call vote about the land bill but the Speaker eventually denied their request, violating House regulations. Finally, the government majority passed the land bill by electronic voting.

Subsequently, Speaker László Kövér disabled the access cards of all consultants and employees of Jobbik's parliamentary group, due to the MPs obstruction of the vote. In addition, the Deputy Speaker of the Parliament János Latorcai proposed to withdraw one monthly remuneration of forty Jobbik MPs, and his proposal was accepted.

Since the 24th of June 2013, the consultants and assistants of the party have not been able to enter the Parliament building, thus making Jobbik's operation impossible. Jobbik MP Dóra Dúró says this may well impact 50-100 people who work in the Office of Parliament, not to mention the potential foreign and Hungarian delegations, guests. Ridiculously enough, Jobbik MPs are forced to conduct their meetings in cafés instead of the Office of Parliament or the Parliament building itself. Jobbik has already appealed the decision officially but the exclusion may as well be extended until the end of the current four-year term, i.e. the general elections in 2014.