Jobbik’s brief history

Jobbik’s predecessor, the Conservative Youth Community was founded by a group of patriotic, conservative intellectuals in 1999, in order to create a non-partisan umbrella organization for like-minded university students. Having been disappointed in the pro-right parties at the time, they decided to form their movement into a political party under the name of Jobbik Movement for a Better Hungary in 2003.

In 2006 Gábor Vona, an enthusiastic history student was elected as the leader of the party, who aimed to turn the organization of mostly young citizens into a national political force. He achieved his goal.

Jobbik had its first major breakthrough in 2009 when it obtained three seats in the European Parliament by gaining 15 per cent of the votes. The Hungarian national elections of 2010 brought 16 per cent of the votes for Jobbik, making it the third largest party in the Hungarian National Assembly.

Stabilizing its positions in 2014 and 2018, Jobbik has become the second largest political force in Hungary. At present, the party holds 26 of the 199 seats in the Hungarian Parliament.

The year of 2018 brought a major change in the life of the party, as President Gábor Vona resigned. After that, Jobbik’s leadership adopted a new management system where the former presidential tasks are shared by two people, i.e., a president and an executive vice president, in order to further enhance the party’s democratic and grassroots character.

The president is Péter Jakab while the position of executive vice president is filled by Márton Gyöngyösi, the leader of Jobbik’s parliamentary faction.

As a Christian conservative and socially sensitive people’s party, Jobbik wishes to firmly counterbalance Hungary’s current authoritarian-leaning governing party and provide a reliable European alternative for all Hungarian people.